Little Hotelier vs Cloudbeds: Which Hotel PMS Is Easier to Set Up? (2026)
If you are opening your first property and have no IT staff, "easy to set up" is not a feature — it is the difference between taking bookings next week and taking them next quarter. This is a side-by-side look at how two widely compared small-property platforms handle setup, and where a third option fits.

Smart Order is our own product. We have put our facts and our competitors' side by side from published sources, but you should read this as a vendor's comparison, not an independent one.
Little Hotelier Overview vs Cloudbeds Overview
Little Hotelier
Little Hotelier is a SiteMinder product scoped deliberately to small properties — it states that it specialises in properties with 1–30 rooms. It is one of the few platforms in this category that publishes a setup duration: self-service onboarding is described as taking 10 to 60 minutes, depending on how many rooms and rate plans you have and whether your property details are readily to hand. It also publishes what you need before you start: legal business name, bank account details, Google business ID, details of the OTAs you are connected to, and access to your property data.
Pricing is published. The page renders a single priced plan, Pro, at from $99 USD per month excluding tax, driven by a bookable-rooms input. Variable booking fees apply to its Hotel Metasearch and Channels Plus add-ons, calculated on total bookings net of cancellations; the percentage is not published. Self-onboarding carries no setup fee; where an onboarding specialist is involved a "minimal" fee may apply, though the amount is not stated. The single published plan lists an onboarding specialist among its inclusions.
Cloudbeds
Cloudbeds serves a wider span — independent hotels, vacation rentals, hostels and multi-property groups — across four plans: Flex, One, Experience and Enterprise.
Cloudbeds states onboarding "can take place on a self-serve basis or with an Onboarding coach, your choice", while the same paragraph says the experience "starts with a kick-off call". Note that self-serve onboarding is not the same as self-serve signup: there is no way to create an account without contacting sales — every conversion path on the pricing page is "Request a quote", "Request a Demo" or "Talk to Sales". Cloudbeds publishes a five-step onboarding program — Kickoff, Setup, Go Live, Adoption, Support — but states no duration in days or weeks anywhere on the page. For a first-time owner the support split is the thing to price in: 24/7 support is included on every plan, but phone support is sold separately as Premium Support. Reservation import is presented as part of the switch — "dedicated onboarding, reservation import services, custom training".
Cloudbeds publishes no price for any of its four plans. Every plan card's call to action is "request a quote".
Little Hotelier vs Cloudbeds: Head-to-Head Breakdown
| Little Hotelier | Cloudbeds | |
|---|---|---|
| Published setup time | 10–60 minutes self-serve | Not published |
| Onboarding model | Self-serve, with an onboarding specialist listed on the published plan | Self-serve or coach-led, starting with a kick-off call |
| Price visible before signup | ✅ from $99/mo + variable add-on fees | ❌ quote only, all four plans |
| Reservation import | Included via onboarding tools | Included — "dedicated onboarding, reservation import services, custom training" |
| Setup fee | None on self-onboard plans; "minimal" fee possible with a specialist | Not stated |
| Stated property fit | 1–30 rooms | B&Bs to multi-property groups |
| Support included | 24/7 phone, chat and email listed on the published plan | 24/7 chat and email all plans; phone is paid |
| Channels | 450+ booking channels | 450+ OTAs on the channel-manager page; 400+ integration partners on the pricing page |
| Self check-in | ❌ none published | ✅ digital check-in, kiosk, digital keys |
| Free plan | ❌ trial only, not a plan | Not published |
The honest summary: Little Hotelier is the more predictable setup for a first-time owner — a published time, a published price, and a published checklist of what to bring. Cloudbeds is the broader platform, but you cannot see what it costs or how long it takes until you are in a sales conversation, and its published onboarding carries no stated duration.
Neither publishes a free plan, so in both cases evaluation runs on a trial or a demo rather than on your real property.
Little Hotelier vs Cloudbeds vs Smart Order: Full Comparison
| Little Hotelier | Cloudbeds | Smart Order | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Free plan | ❌ trial only, not a plan | Not published | ✅ Free forever, no room limit, no time limit — OTA channels are per-room add-ons on this plan |
| Trial | Free period — page title says 30 days, plan card badges "Free 3 months"; card details required up front | None mentioned on the pages reviewed | 14 days, no credit card |
| Sign up without talking to sales | ✅ | ❌ every CTA is "Request a quote", "Request a Demo" or "Talk to Sales" | ✅ "Get Started for Free" is the primary CTA |
| Price visible before signup | ✅ | ❌ | ✅ $5/room/month, 5-room minimum |
| Migration assistance | Included via onboarding tools | Included — "dedicated onboarding, reservation import services, custom training" | Free migration, setup and go-live assistance |
| Self check-in | ❌ none published | ✅ | ✅ on Professional; key-card / smart-lock access $1 per room per month each |
| Housekeeping | ✅ within Front Desk | ✅ "Streamline hotel operations and keep staff on track from your PMS" | ✅ on Professional |
| Channel count published | 450+ | 450+ (400+ stated elsewhere on site) | No total published; 10 named OTAs |
| Interface languages | — | — | 13 |
One row deserves a caveat rather than a victory lap: on raw channel breadth, both alternatives publish far larger numbers. Smart Order names ten OTA connections and publishes no total channel count. If you sell through a long tail of regional OTAs, check your specific channels against the list before switching.
Now, meet Smart Order.
Smart Order is a cloud PMS built for independent hotels, B&Bs, vacation rentals and serviced apartments, founded in 2016 and run from Hangzhou with offices in Shanghai, Hong Kong and Tokyo.
For someone opening their first property, the relevant part is not the feature list. It is that you can have a working front desk this afternoon without a purchase order. The Essential plan is free — permanently, with no cap on rooms and no expiry — and it includes the front desk, reservation calendar, room status, basic reporting, the mobile app and customer management. There is no demo gate and no quote to wait for.
When you are ready for channels, housekeeping and self check-in, Professional is $5 per room per month with a five-room minimum, and all ten OTA connections and the booking engine are included at no additional charge.
Migrating from Little Hotelier or Cloudbeds? Easier than you think.
Free migration and setup
Migration, setup and go-live assistance are included as part of PMS onboarding at no cost. That covers organising your rooms, rates, policies and reservations — the work that stalls most switches.
Channels sync in real time from day one
Once connected, rates, availability and reservations synchronise in real time across the supported OTAs rather than being reconciled by hand.
Try it before you move
The 14-day trial requires no credit card, and if you do not upgrade, the free plan remains available. You can run it alongside your current system rather than switching on faith.
Why first-time owners choose Smart Order
You can start without a sales call
Free plan, self-serve signup, published per-room price.
The price is knowable before you commit
$5 per room per month, five-room minimum. The rate holds to nine rooms, then a graduated volume discount applies — roughly 10% at 37 rooms, 25% at 100, 40% at 200. Annual billing lists at $60 per room per year, less 15% — $51 per room per year.
No per-channel charges on Professional
All ten OTA channels and the booking engine are included; there is no additional charge for OTA connections beyond the subscription.
Commission-free direct bookings
The booking engine takes no commission on reservations from your own site, and Stripe and Smart Order Payment cost nothing to connect.
Built to be learned quickly
The interface is calendar-based, with step-by-step tutorials and support during setup. One customer, Nihon YIAN, reports that new staff learned the system in one to two days — their experience, not a guaranteed timeframe.
Your team can run it from a phone
The mobile app itself is included free on both plans; the housekeeping views inside it require Professional.
Compare more PMS platforms
- Little Hotelier vs Sirvoy
- Little Hotelier vs eviivo
- Cloudbeds vs Mews
- Sirvoy vs RoomRaccoon
- HotelRunner vs Cloudbeds

Everything you need to know
How long does it take to set up a hotel PMS with no IT staff?
Most vendors do not publish a figure. Where one is published, self-service setup is generally described in minutes to hours, and fully managed onboarding in weeks. The variable that actually drives it is your own data: the number of rate plans you run, and whether existing future reservations have to be imported. Have your room list, rate plans, bank details and OTA logins ready before you start and most of the delay disappears.
Can I move my existing reservations across?
Usually, but confirm the scope and the cost. Ask specifically whether future reservations, past reservations, guest profiles and invoices all transfer, and whether the work is included or billed as a service. Smart Order includes migration, setup and go-live assistance at no cost as part of onboarding.
Do I need a credit card to try a PMS?
Not always. Smart Order's 14-day trial requires no credit card, and the free plan remains available afterwards if you do not upgrade. Elsewhere in this category, terms vary — some trials require payment details up front, and some vendors offer no trial at all.
Is a free hotel PMS plan actually usable?
It depends entirely on the limits. Some free tiers cap you at a single room, others expire. Smart Order's Essential plan has no restriction on the number of rooms or the duration of use and includes the front desk, reservation calendar, basic reporting, mobile app and customer management. Housekeeping, self check-in and multi-calendar are Professional features, so a free plan is a front-desk and reservations system rather than a full operations suite.
What should I get ready before setup day?
Your legal business name, bank account details, room and rate list, cancellation and deposit policies, property photos, logins for the OTAs you already sell on, and an export of your existing reservations. Nearly every delayed go-live traces back to one of these being missing rather than to the software.
How much should a small hotel expect to pay?
Published models in this category differ enough that headline prices do not compare directly: per room per month, a flat subscription, a percentage of booking revenue, or a flat fee per confirmed booking. Calculate the annual cost at your real room count, and again at double it. Smart Order's Professional plan is $5 per room per month with a five-room minimum.